For each of the 50 states and DC: who licenses home care, which official records exist, how they can be accessed, and how often the source says it updates. Research entries say exactly how they were verified.
How to read this page
“Configured source” means HomeCareIntent ingests it on a schedule. “Researched source” is an official source identified during research and not yet ingested. Cadence is quoted as the source states it; “not stated by the source” means no schedule is published. Notes are research observations as of the verification date.
Registry overview
Licensing authority, primary source method and cadence for every jurisdiction. Select a state for a summary, or scroll to its full registry entry below.
U.S. coverage map. Use the arrow keys to move between states and press Enter to show a state's coverage details.
Tiles are equal-area, not geographic. Select a state for its licensing authority, official source and status.
Coverage profile · TX
Development: Connector in development. Data not published.
Texas
Connector in development and output under review. No figures are published.
Search-result snippet of the ADHS GIS layer metadata says 'updated monthly'; however the observed data is a February 2025 snapshot (max RUN_DATE 2025-02-03; dataLastEditDate 2025-02-04).
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE)
API
ArcGIS item description: 'developed and regularly updated for use in emergency response activities' (no fixed cadence stated). Observed Date_Data_Updated 2026-06-15; layer dataLastEditDate 2026-06-17.
Monthly - per search-result text of the LDH page, changes during a month are reflected in the following month's report, posted by the 5th of the month.
Not stated; DPH says the app 'provides the most up-to-date information'. Layer dataLastEditDate observed 2026-10-03; max PERMIT_ISSUED_DATE 2026-10-02 (suggests frequent refresh).
Search-result snippet of the ADHS GIS layer metadata says 'updated monthly'; however the observed data is a February 2025 snapshot (max RUN_DATE 2025-02-03; dataLastEditDate 2025-02-04).
ArcGIS item description: 'developed and regularly updated for use in emergency response activities' (no fixed cadence stated). Observed Date_Data_Updated 2026-06-15; layer dataLastEditDate 2026-06-17.
Covers
HCA License - Personal Care Homemaker (HCA-PHS) · HCA License - In-Home Support Services · HCA License Only · HCA License - Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities · Home Health Agency (HHA license; Medicare/Medicaid certified or license-only) · Home Care Placement Agency · Hospice
Monthly - per search-result text of the LDH page, changes during a month are reflected in the following month's report, posted by the 5th of the month.
Covers
Home and Community Based Services · Home Health · Nurse Staffing Agencies · Case Management · Hospice
Provider directory page states 'Data is updated daily.'
Covers
Basic Home Care License (incl. Temporary Basic Home Care) · Comprehensive Home Care License (incl. Temporary Comprehensive Home Care) · Home Care Branch · Home Health Agency (Medicare-certified) · Certificate of Registration for Home Management
Published yearly on March 15 (stated on directory page).
Covers
Comprehensive Home Care License (incl. Temporary Comprehensive Home Care) · Basic Home Care License (incl. Temporary Basic Home Care) · Home Health Agency (Medicare-certified)
Agency to Provide Personal Care Services in the Home · Agency to Provide Nursing in the Home · Employment Agency to Provide Nonmedical Services · Intermediary Service Organization · Hospice
Not stated; DPH says the app 'provides the most up-to-date information'. Layer dataLastEditDate observed 2026-10-03; max PERMIT_ISSUED_DATE 2026-10-02 (suggests frequent refresh).
Covers
In-Home Care Provider (IHCP) · Home Health Agency · Hospice Program / Hospice Facility
West Virginia Department of Human ServicesBureau for Medical Services (Medicaid) / Bureau of Senior Services (Aged and Disabled Waiver operating agency)West Virginia Office of Inspector General(opens in a new tab)Office of Health Facility Licensure and Certification (OHFLAC)
License term
Home Health Agency (HHA)
Verification
Verified by loading the official page (Oct 5, 2026)
Federal data
Medicare-certified home health agencies only (CMS). Not used as non-medical home care coverage.